top of page

Never give up hope

When I was a little girl, maybe around six to seven years old, the one thing I always wanted was a cat. My dad took me to my uncles who's cat had not long since had a litter. I instantly fell in love with a ginger kitty. I asked my dad if I could keep him who replied "Why not, he his used to dogs," My uncle at the time also had a German Shepherd the same as us.

I took this bundle of joy home, my little ginger as I called him, My dad showed him to our dog Ricky, who wagged his tail and couldn't wait to smell the cat. Ginger hissed and scratched our Ricky on the nose. From that day forward, the cat stayed upstairs and if he did come down our Ricky would show his displeasure. As time went on and my Ginger and Ricky didn't get on my mum thought it was best to take the kitten back to my uncle's. At the time I was heart broken, looking back now she was right. It was no life for him to be alone all day, then again while we slept at night.

Years went by and still I wanted a kitten, a cat that I cuddle of my own. At twenty one I was living alone with my three month old daughter, her father was in the army and only home some weekends.

My dad bought me a dog, a German Shepherd named Lexi although I loved her dearly I thought any hope of having a cat was gone.

when my daughter turned six, I got my first kittens, Shadow and Misty, I was terrified that my dog would eat them. I gradually introduced them and now they are best friends. I realize now that at the time of getting my first kitten that they were not introduced the right way.

Now I am the proud owner of two tabby cats and two ragdolls, and I still have my biggest fur baby of all Lexi.

I almost gave up hope of ever getting a cat, believing in the myth that cats and dogs hate each other and would never get along. But even though it took years to get my cats. Sometimes never giving up hope makes your dreams happen in the end.

E.J Bennett

.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page